Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

How do I duplicate an opportunity?

This article shows group managers how to duplicate an opportunity.

If you've created a great volunteer opportunity that you'd like to use again, or you have a number of opportunities that are very similar, Be Collective's duplication function can save you lots of administration time.

Duplicate an active opportunity

  1. Open your group management page (How do I manage my group?)

  2. Open the Opportunities tab (your Active opportunities open by default)

  3. Click Duplicate below the opportunity you want to copy

Duplicating an active opportunity can be really useful if, for instance, you'd like volunteers for identical roles in different locations. In this example, you can duplicate your opportunity and edit only the location in the duplicate, leaving all other details the same. You can duplicate an opportunity as many times as you need.

Duplicate an ended opportunity

  1. Open your group management page

  2. Open the Opportunities tab

  3. Open the Ended tab

  4. Click Duplicate below the relevant opportunity

Duplicating a past opportunity can be helpful if you run annual volunteer drives for the same roles. You can duplicate last year's opportunity, retain all of the details and simply create new shifts or schedules for this year.

You don't need to worry about removing the previous year's shifts or schedules from the duplicate — all scheduling and rostering information is cleared from duplicate opportunities.

Edit and publish the duplicate

After your opportunity has been duplicated, it will be saved as a new draft and you will be taken automatically to the Drafts/Pending tab of your Opportunities table.

  1. Click Edit to open the opportunity builder for your newly-duplicated opportunity

  2. Review and update the copied details as needed (remove (COPY) from the title, or rename the opportunity altogether)

  3. Click Create opportunity to publish, or return to Drafts/Pending to edit and publish later

From within the opportunity builder, you can choose whether to keep or change the following items copied across from the original opportunity:

  • Opportunity title

  • Overview of the role

  • Tasks and responsibilities

  • Location

  • Experience gained

  • Youth Accessible

  • Contact person

  • Causes

  • Opportunity suitable for

  • Credits available (Be Collective Pro and Full Platform only)

Any details pertaining to shifts or schedules from the original opportunity will not be duplicated. Approved and assigned volunteers are also not carried across to the duplicate.

Please note — the application form linked to your original opportunity will not be duplicated. The duplicate will come with a default application form. For more information, see How can I customise my opportunity application form?

For full builder steps, see How do I create an opportunity?