Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

How do I leave a family group?

A Family Group on Be Collective is created and owned by a parent or guardian who can then add members to their family.

Anyone under 13 years of age must belong to a Family Group if they wish to have a Be Collective account. Being part of a Family Group gives parents/guardians full visibility of the young person's activity on Be Collective.

As a family group owner or other adult, you can leave a family group at any time.

Leave a family group

  1. Open My dashboard, then the My family group tab
  2. Click Leave family group (bottom right)

If you're the owner of the family group, a pop-up will ask you to select a new family group owner from one of the parents or guardians already in your family group. For more details on transferring ownership, please see:

How do I transfer a family group to another parent/guardian?

Can children (under 13) leave a family group? No – child accounts must be attached to a family group at all times until the user reaches the age of 13, at which point they're conferred with adult account access and can leave a family group following the steps above.

What happens when a child turns 13? When an under 13 user reaches their 13th birthday, they will no longer require the approval of a parent or guardian to interact with groups through applications and messages. They may choose to remain in the family group but will not need parental/guardian approval for volunteering.