Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

What happens to data I share with groups I've joined?

When you join a group on Be Collective, any data you share through your application form is received by the group. By submitting your application, you consent to the group taking possession of this data for retention and use in compliance with privacy and data protection laws.

Groups on Be Collective may be required to retain information relating to your volunteering activity for long periods, including limited identifying data about you and your participation in volunteering activities.

This is particularly the case where the group's work involves volunteer engagement with vulnerable individuals (for example, children, the elderly, people with disabilities and victims of domestic abuse).

If you are a group member who has volunteered for such activity, please note the following:

(a) Groups may be under a legal or regulatory obligation to retain your personal details and volunteering activity for longer periods than the period of 7 years for which Be Collective itself retains such information;

(b) that the deletion by you of your own Account on Be Collective will not automatically result in deletion of your personal details and the records of your volunteering activity kept by the relevant Groups;

(c) that if you wish any Group to delete such records, it is your responsibility to contact the Group Administrator and request that this is done; and

(d) that Be Collective will not be responsible or liable for any failure by Groups to delete the records that they hold about you or to handle such information in accordance with applicable privacy and data protection laws.

For more information, see Be Collective's terms and conditions.